In Memory of Jock Scot

Photo: Tom Jackson

Photo: Tom Jackson


Jock was an extraordinary poet and a man of tremendous wit, power and integrity. After Ian died in 2000, Jock wrote this beautiful poem as a tribute to Ian and their friendship.[/para]

Jock Scot
21/9/52 – 13/4/16


Ian’s Poem

I put all my eggs in one basket
The basket that you gave to me
One was called ‘Hope’
One was called ‘Truth’
Another called ‘Peace’
That makes three

Now a moth circles around a bare light bulb
Oddly reminding me of Francis Bacon
And then I wonder just where you are
And what connections you’re making

Yes, such a swift departure,
You left me clutching at a half-pint of lager
I looked up and you were gone
Leaving the Blockheads and all your mates
On the stage to carry on
The next generation
Bring ’em on, bring ’em on, bring ’em on

So I’m left with the eggs and the bacon
And you could be oceans away
But if, when I yell
Outside the Gates of Hell
You appear with a smile and a swagger
Maybe we can sit down in the Devil’s Arms
And order a fresh pint of lager


APRIL 18th, 2015

@Demon Music Group is releasing a special Expanded Edition of Ian Dury’s seminal’ New Boots & Panties’!!! Exclusively for @Record Store Day 2015 on April 18th. Limited to 1500 copies worldwide the package features New Boots on 180-gram coloured vinyl and a brand new compilation of rarities, demos and live recordings, Different Boots & Panties!!!, both LPs housed in a pop-up sleeve. ‪#‎RSD15‬

‘Dany Bubbles’ at David Risley Gallery, Copenhagen

(Click on image above)

(Click on image above)

This is our Music Music by Artists
This is our Art – Art by Musicians

Opening Feb 21st 5pm – ends April 5th.
David Risley Gallery, Bredgade 65, Copenhagen.
An Exhibition of Music by Artists and Art by Musicians
A series of live events, performances, talks, film and record nights.
A new permanent record store and coffee shop – The Gutter, music by artists.


Gallery – Art by musicians

Alan Vega (Suicide), Ara Peterson (Forcefield), Are Mokkelbost (Killl), Big Bottom (founded by Susan Stenger. Original members: Stenger, Angela Bulloch, Cerith Wyn Evans, Tom Gidley, J. Mitch Flacko), Billy Childish (Thee Headcoats), Bjorn Copeland (Black Dice), Brian DeGraw (Gang Gang Dance), Captain Beefheart/Don Van Vliet, Daniel Johnston, David Byrne, Exene (X), Frans Beckerlee (Gasolin), Francis Macdonald (BMX Bandits), Geraldine Swayne (Faust), Guy Blakeslee (The Entrance Band), Harry Pye, Ian Dury (Ian Dury and the Blockheads), Jad Fair (Half Japanese), James Cauty (KLF), Jeffrey Lewis, Jennifer Herrema (Royal Trux), Jim Drain (Forcefield), Karl Hyde (Underworld), Kasper Eistrup (Kashmir), Knud Odde (The Sods), Lasse Hoile (PanzerChrist), Lizzi Bougatsos (Gang Gang Dance), Loke Rahbek (Damien Dubrovnik), Lucky Dragons, Lydia Lunch, Mads Westrup, Martin Creed, Mick Barr (Octis/Ocrilim), Miss Pokeno (Thompson Twins), Peter Peter (The Sods), Rene Daniels, Richard Fearless (Death in Vegas), Robert Crumb, Ross Sinclair (The Soup Dragons), Steve Claydon (Add n to x), T S Høegh, Tobias R Kirstein, Toke Tietze Mortensen, Tommy Grace (Django Django), Tori Kudo (Maher Shalal Hash Baz), Troels Trier, Vaginal Davis (Black Fag), Willis Earl Beal, Yamantaka EYE, Zven Balslev, Jakob Boeskov, Timothy DeWit (Gang Gang Dance, Dutch E Germ), Matthew Morandi (Jahiliyya Fields) and Nis Bysted (Thulebasen)

The Gutter – Music by Artists
A new record store for music by artists

These artists keep their records in The Gutter – A K Dolven and John Giorno, Andy Holden, Angkor Wrack, Anja Jacobsen, Are Mokkelbost, Billy Childish, Black Dice, Black Fag, Brian Eno, Brown Sounds, Buzzard Lope, Charlie Roberts, Christian Marclay, Cornelious Quabeck, Croatian Amour, Damien Dubrovnik, Daniel Johnston, Darren Crawford, David Humphrey, De Tödliche Doris, Destroy All Monsters, Details at Eleven, Dexter Dalwood (The Cortinas), Dinos Chapman, Django Django, Emmett WIlliams, Eric Copeland, Excepter. Escho Records, Faust, Forcefield, Gang Gang Dance, Gasolin, Graham Dolphin, Half Japanese, Henning Christiansen, Imi Knoebel, Ivan Wyschnegradsky, James Beckett, Jeffrey Lewis, Jeremy Deller, Jockum Nordstrum, John Cage, Joseph Beuys, Kashmir, Kim Gordon, Klaus Weber, KLF, Knud Odde, Kristian Poulsen, Ladyscraper, Lost Toys records, Lucky Dragons, Lydia Lunch, Mads Westrup, Maher Shalal Hash Baz, Malcom Mooney, Mark Gubb, Martin Creed, Martin Kippenberger, Mark Leckey, Mat Jenner, Meredith Monk, Mike Kelley, Nam June Paik, Octis/Ocrilim, PanzerChrist, Patti Smith, Paul McDevitt, Peggy Honeywell (Clare Rojas), Peter Schuyff (The Woodwards), Posh Isolation, Poul Gernes, Ragnar Kjartansson, Raymond Pettibon, Red Krayola, Robert Crumb and the Cheap Suit Serenaders, Rodney Graham, Ross Sinclair (The Soup Dragons), Scott King, Shitwife, Sonic Youth, Sort Sol, Spost, T S Høegh, The Buff Medways, The Entrance Band, The Sods, Toke Tietze Mortensen, Troels Trier, Underworld, Vår, White Columns, Willis Earl Beal, Wolf Eyes, X, Yoko Ono, Zven Balslev, Jakob Boeskov, Timothy DeWit and Matthew Morandi, Yoyoyooyoo…

The Gutter will stock t-shirts, posters, bags, comic books etc, all by artists. eg.
Oliver Payne – Chill Out t-shirts and clothing, Charlie Roberts – Choppy Sportswear and jewellery, 
Graham Dolphin – modified records and editions, 
Jeffrey Lewis – comic books, Ross Sinclair – Posters, Jeremy Deller – Bags, Andy Holden – record bowls, Zven Balslev – zines and posters, 
etc etc.

The Blockheads’ BOYS WILL BE BOYS

The Blockheads latest single ‘Boys Will Be Boys’ is available now to download in a £1.29 package with Dr Rubberfunk ‘s excellent remix of ‘Express Yourself’ as the B-Side and the very cool PDF Booklet.

iTunes link to buy this single

As both singles from their new record ‘Same Horse Different Jockey’ have been ignored by the main radio stations, The Blockheads have launched a campaign to get ‘Boys Will Be Boys’ in to the top 40 and on to the radio playlist.

A Facebook page has been set up for anyone who wants to get involved with the campaign.

Click here for Facebook link